Top MBA Directory in U.S.A.

Asia - Europe - Australia - Africa - Latin America - Middle East - North America - Central America

You are here: Top MBA Directory > Europe > Kosovo


Kosovo Political system

Kosovo was officially a province of Serbia until February 17, 2008. Since the end of the war in Yugoslavia, however, Kosovo has been under the protection and leadership of NATO. The interim administration of Kosovo, UNMIK, was established by the Security Council on June 10, 1999 as a UN peacekeeping mission for the restoration and reconstruction of Kosovo. It should prepare the province for elections and ultimately for its autonomy. In cooperation with the people of Kosovo, UNMIK performed the most important tasks of civil administration. At the same time, the mission should monitor the development of provisional institutions for democratic self-government in Kosovo and thus create the conditions for a peaceful and normal life in Kosovo. The Albanian majority in the country pushed for rapid independence, But what was prevented for a long time mainly by the resistance of the Russians sympathizing with Serbia. The north of Kosovo, inhabited by around 20,000 Serbs, had long since eluded the UN's control and influence.

Kosovo Political system

Fatmir Sejdiu (born 1951) has been President of Kosovo since February 2006. Before that he was Professor of Legal History at the University of Prishtina. He is a consistent advocate of a (non-violent) complete independence of Kosovo. The country's prime minister has been Hashim Thaçi Agim Çeku (born 1968) since 2007. He was previously a co-founder and leader of the UÇK.

On February 17, 2008, the parliament declared the independence of Kosovo and on June 15, 2008 the new constitution of the country was signed by the President of the Republic of Kosovo Fatmir Sejdiu in Prishdina.

According to, the official name of the country is:


National anthem

The national anthem of a country is a piece of music that is usually underlaid with a text and is intended to express the state, lifestyle and national feeling of a country. It is played on special festive occasions, e.g. on state visits, on special holidays or to honor politicians, business leaders, etc. The national anthem of the respective winning country is also used at the award ceremony on the occasion of international sporting events such as the Olympic Games, the Tour de France or World and European Championships Performance.

The introduction of the national anthems in most European countries goes back to the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The numerous former colonies that had become independent usually introduced their national anthems and also their national flags after independence, i.e. in the second half of the 20th century.

On June 12, 2008, the parliament in Prishtina selected the anthem with the title Europe as the new national anthem, composed by the music professor at the University of Prishtina - Mehdi Mengjiqi - from 134 drafts. The hymn has no lyrics. It was officially presented to the public for the first time on June 15 in Pristina.

On September 10, 2012, Kosovo finally became a fully sovereign state after its independence.

National flag

Based on flag descriptions by, the flag of Kosovo shows - as can be clearly seen in the picture - six white stars that extend in a slight arc over the gold-colored outline of Kosovo. The blue background symbolizes the country's hope for integration in Europe, while the six stars symbolize the six different ethnic groups of Kosovo: Albanians, Bosniaks, Roma, Serbs, Turks and other minorities.

Kosovo flag and coat of arms

Kosovo: People we know

Politicians and rulers

  • Haxhi Zeka (1832-1904), one of the leading representatives of the "League of Prizren".
  • Abdyl Frasheri (1839-1892), one of the leading representatives of the "League of Prizren".
  • Pashko Vasas (1825 - 1892), one of the leading representatives of the "League of Prizren".
  • Fatmir Sejdiu (born 1951), President of Kosovo since 2006.
  • Agim Çeku (born 1960), Prime Minister of Kosovo since 2006.
  • Ramush Haradinaj (born 1968), Prime Minister of Kosovo from 2004 to 2005.
  • Bajram Kosumi (born 1960), Prime Minister of Kosovo from 2005 to 2006.
  • Bajram Rexhepi (born 1954), Prime Minister of Kosovo from 2002 to 2004.
  • Ibrahim Rugova (1944-2006), President of Kosovo from 2002 to 2006. Rugova was seen abroad as the political and moral leader of Kosovo.
  • Hashim Thaçi (born 1968), chairman of the Democratic Party of Kosovo and co-founder and leader of the UÇK guerrilla movement.

Writer, poet and musician

  • Hivzi Sulejmani (1912-1975), writer.
  • Esad Mekuli (1916 - 1993), poet and founder of Yugoslavia's first Albanian-language literary magazine "Jeta".
  • Enver Gjerqeku (born 1928) poet.
  • Din Mehmeti (born 1932), poet.
  • Azem Shkreli (1938-1997), poet and novelist.
  • Anton Pashku (1938-1995), writer. He is considered the author of modern Kosovo literature.
  • Nazmi Rrahmani (born 1941), writer.
  • Ali Podrimja (born 1942), poet.
  • Beqë Cufaj (born 1970), writer and journalist.
  • Martin Camaj (1925-1992), poet and linguist.
  • Beqir Musliu (1945-1996), writer.
  • Zejnullah Rrahmani (born 1952), writer.
  • Dafina S. Zeqiri (born 1984), composer
  • Mendi Mengjiqi (born), composer and music professor at the University of Prishtina and composer of the new hymn of Kosovo called "Europe"






Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia American Samoa Australia Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

Latin America

Falkland Islands Fiji Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia French Polynesia Guam Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Solomon Islands Tokelau    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

Top MBA Directory Copyright 2020 - Alphabetical Listings