Bangladesh Political System, Famous People, Animals and Plants

By | January 15, 2023

Bangladesh: Political System

According to EQUZHOU.NET, Bangladesh is a parliamentary democracy with pure majority voting. At the head of the state is a president who is directly elected by the people every five years. The five-year legislative period began on October 1st, 2001 with the first session of the national parliament with 330 members, 300 of whom were directly elected; 30 seats are reserved for women, elected by the 300 MPs. The constitution dates from 1972 and was last amended in 1996. See AbbreviationFinder for more information about Bangladesh politics, and acronyms as well.

The official name of the country is:

People’s Republic of Bangladesh

National anthem

Based on flag descriptions by, the national anthem of Bangladesh was written and set to music by the poet, philosopher, educator and social reformer Rabindranath Tagore (in German: Thákur) (1861-1941). Tagore received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913. In 1972 it became the country’s official anthem. It’s called “Amar Sonar Bangla” (My Golden Bengal).

  • Check top-mba-universities for public holidays, sports events, UNESCO world heritage sites and major places to visit in Bangladesh.

In Bengali it reads:

Amar Sonar BanglaAmi tomay bhalobashi,

Ciradin tomar akas, tomar batas, amar prane

grandma amar prane, bajay basi.

Sonar Bamla, Ami tomay bhalobasi.

O ma, Fagune gate amer bane ghrane pagal kare, mari hay, hay re

O ma, Fagune gate amer bane ghrane pagal kare,

O ma, aghrane gate bhara ksete ki dekhechi ami ki dekhechi madhur hasi

Sonar Bamla ami tomay bhalo basi, ki sobha, ki chaya go ki sneha,

ki maya go ki acal bichayecha

bater mule, nadir kule kule.

Ma, tor mukher bani amar kane location suhar mato,

mari hay hay re ma,

tor nadankhani malin hale, o ma, ami nayanjale bhasi.

Bangladesh: People you know

Visual artist

  • Zainul Abedin (1914-1976)
  • Hassan Quamrul (1921-1988)
  • Rafiqun Nabi (born 1943)

Politicians and rulers

  • Iajuddin Ahmed (born 1931) has been the head of state of Bangladesh since 2002.
  • Begum Khaleda Zia (born 1945) is the Prime Minister of Bangladesh.
  • Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (1920-1975) is considered to be the founder of Bangladesh.
  • Sheikh Hasina is the Prime Minister of Bangladesh.

Writer and poet

  • Rabíndranáth Tagore (formerly in German: Thákur) (1861-1941) was a Bengali poet, painter, philosopher, educator and social reformer. For the English translation of his work Gitanjali, which he himself made, he received the first Asian Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913.
  • Nasrul Islam (1899-1976), Bengali writer.
  • Taslima Nasreen (born 1962) has sparked worldwide interest because of her open criticism of the oppression of women by Islam.
  • Michael Madhusudan Dutt, (1824-1873)
  • Shamsur Rahman, (born 1929)
  • Begum Sufia (1911-1999), writer and feminist.
  • Humayun Ahmed (born 1948)

Business professionals

Mohammed Junus (born 1940)

On October 13, 2006, the economist and the Grameen Bank he founded received the Nobel Peace Prize as a complete surprise. Junus was chosen by the five-member jury because he had initiated innovative economic programs in his home country, such as microcredit for the poor, and thus helped to support “economic and social development from below”. This is of particular importance, since “there cannot be lasting peace as long as large sections of the population cannot find a way out of poverty,” said the committee in Oslo. The loans were used, for example, to buy cows, chickens or cell phones to enable small business startups. In a statement, the 66-year-old said: “I am delighted. I cannot believe this really happened. Everyone told me I would get the award, but it was an absolute surprise. This is fantastic news for everyone who has supported us. “In Bangladesh alone, over two million people have benefited from interest-free microcredit loans, which were given without collateral and mostly to women.

Bangladesh Politics