East Timor Political System, Famous People, Animals and Plants

By | January 15, 2023

East Timor: Political System

According to EQUZHOU.NET, the official name of the country is:

Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

República Democrática de Timor-Leste

Timor Loro Sa’e

At the end of May 2006, the state’s order completely collapsed. Murdering and looting gangs mainly roamed the streets of the capital. The UN withdrew its staff. Troops from Australia, New Zealand and Malaysia, who landed on the island in response to a government request for help, also failed to get the situation under control. See AbbreviationFinder for more information about East Timor politics, and acronyms as well.

East Timor is basically a democratic republic with elections every five years.

The unicameral parliament, Parlamento Nacional, is freely elected every five years and should consist of 52 to 64 seats. Currently, in the first legislative period, there are exceptionally 88 seats.

The President as head of state appoints the Prime Minister as head of government after the parliamentary elections. The president is directly elected every five years and is also the head of the military.

The voting age is 18 years.

The state consists of 13 districts, which are divided as follows.

District Population (rounded) Size in km2 Capital
Aileu 37,000 729 Aileu
Ainaro 54,000 797 Ainaro
Baucau 104,600 1,494 Baucau
Bobonaro 82,500 1,368 Maliana
Cova Lima 55,941 1,226 Suai
Dili 167,800 372 Dili
Ermera 103,300 746 Ermera
Loud 57,500 1,702 Los Palos
Liquiça 55,000 543 Liquiça
Manatuto 35,000 1,706 Manatuto
Manufahi 39,000 1,325 Seed
Oecussi * 58,500
Viqueque 66,500 1,781 Viqueque
total area 14,604

Based on flag descriptions by Countryaah.com, this enclave is located on the north coast of West Timor, which belongs to Indonesia.

  • Check top-mba-universities for public holidays, sports events, UNESCO world heritage sites and major places to visit in East Timor.

National anthem

The text is from Francisco Borja da Costa (1946-1975):

Pátria, Pátria, Timor-Leste, nossa Nação.Glória ao povo e aos heróis da nossa libertação.

Pátria, Pátria, Timor-Leste, nossa Nação.

Glória ao povo e aos heróis da nossa libertação.

Vencemos o colonialismo, gritamos:

abaixo o imperialismo.

Terra livre, povo livre, not

, not, not à exploração.

Avante unidos firmes e decididos

Na luta contra o imperialismo

o inimigo dos povos, até à vitória final.

Pelo caminho da revolução.

In the English translation

Home, home, East Timor, our nation.Honor the people and the heroes of our liberation.

Home, home, East Timor, our nation.

Honor the people and the heroes of our liberation.

We defeat colonialism, we shout:

Down with imperialism,

free land, free people,

no, no to exploitation.

Determined and closely united forwards

in the struggle against imperialism.

The enemy of the peoples until the last victory.

On the way of the revolution.

In the fight against imperialism.

East Timor: Known People

  • Prince Henrich the Navigator (1394 – 1460)The Portuguese prince was responsible for the discovery of the country in the 15th century through his promotion of seafaring.
  • Sir Wallace Russel Wallace (1823 – 1913)The English explorer defined the boundary between Asian and Australian flora and fauna as the Wallace Line. He has published the following books, among others: Malay Archipelago (1869), Contributions to the Theory of Natural Selection (1870), The Geographical Distribution of Animals (1876), and Man’s Place in the Universe (1903).
  • Francisco Borja da Costa (1946-1975)freedom fighter and poet. He wrote the lyrics of the national anthem
  • Bishop Carlos Belo (born February 3, 1948)The Roman Catholic bishop received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1996 together with José Ramos-Horta.
  • José Ramos-Horta (born December 26, 1949)He received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1996 together with Bishop Carlos Belo
  • Nino Konis Santana (1959-1998)freedom fighter. The national park, officially inaugurated in 1908, was named after him

East Timor Politics