Taiwan Political System, Famous People, Animals and Plants

By | January 15, 2023

Taiwan: Political System

According to EQUZHOU.NET, the parliament with 225 members and the president are directly elected by the population. Parliament is responsible for legislation. The President appoints the so-called Judicial Yuan, the Supreme Court, the so-called Control Yuan, the Supreme Audit Office, and the Audit Yuan to control the state administration. In addition, the President recommends the Prime Minister, who forms the Executive Yuan, the actual government with eight ministers and several bodies. See AbbreviationFinder for more information about Taiwan politics, and acronyms as well.

An independent national assembly with 325 members is responsible for constitutional amendments and impeachments.

The official name of the country is:

Republic of China to Taiwan

National anthem

The national anthem of Taiwan is named San Min Chu-i and became the official national anthem of the Republic of China in Taiwan in 1943.

In the English translation:

The three popular principles, the goal of our party.With that we build the republic, with that we achieve world peace.

Oh, you fighters, be the vanguard for the people.

Tirelessly from morning to night, follow the principles.

Praise zeal, praise courage, be reliable and faithful.

With one heart and one will, hold on to it forever.

National flag

Based on flag descriptions by Countryaah.com, the national flag (national flag) of Taiwan was introduced on October 8, 1928. In the blue sky with a white sun, the 12 rays of the sun symbolize the 12 months and the 12 traditional Chinese hours. The red symbolizes the blood of the revolutionaries who sacrificed themselves to overthrow the Qing Dynasty to found the Republic of China.

  • Check top-mba-universities for public holidays, sports events, UNESCO world heritage sites and major places to visit in Taiwan.


The Qing Dynasty was founded in 1616 and ruled the Chinese Empire from 1644. It had replaced the Ming Dynasty and ended after the Xinhai Revolution of 1911 with the proclamation of the Republic of China on January 1, 1912.

Taiwan: Known People

Visual artist

Chen Chengpo (1895-1947), painter.

Daniel Lee (born 1945), artist and photographer.

Chiu Ya Tsai (born 1949), painter.

Chen Hsing-Wan (born 1951), painter.

Shu Lea Cheang (born 1954), artist.

Mali Wu (born 1957), artist.

Lee Mingwei (born 1964), artist.

CH Xavier Wie (born 1966), artist.

An-chi Liu (born 1968), artist.

Yuan Goang-ming (born 1965), artist and photographer.

Goang-Ming Yuan (born 1965), artist.


Jay Chow (born 1979), R&B and rap musician.

Jolin Tsai (born 1980), singer.

Vivian Hsu (born 1975), singer.

Natural scientist

Yuan T. Lee (born 1936), chemist and Nobel Prize winner.

Together with his colleagues, he received the Nobel Prize in 1986 for their contributions to the dynamics of elementary chemical processes.

Wen-Hsiung Li (born 1942), geneticist and evolutionary biologist.

He did research mainly in the field of molecular and human evolution and worked on DNA sequencing of the human genome in the human genome project.

Politicians and rulers

Chiang Ching-kuo (1910–1988) was President of Taiwan from 1972 to 1988.

Lee Teng-hui (born 1923), politician and President of Taiwan from 1988 to 2000.

Chen Shui-bian (born 1950), politician and President of Taiwan since 2000.

Frank Chang-ting Hsieh (born 1946), politician and Prime Minister of Taiwan from 2005 to 2006.

Writer and poet

LoKuanChung (1330 – 1400) wrote the story of the struggle for supremacy in China after the Han Dynasty in the years 220-264.

ShihNaiAn (13th – 14th century) wrote the heroic epic “The robbers from LiangShan Moor”.

WuChengEn (1506 – 1582) described the journey of the Buddhist monk HsuanTang, who brought Buddhism to India, in his work “Reise nach dem Westen”.

ChinPingMei wrote the moral novel “Sloe flowers in a golden vase”, published in 1610, about the Ming period.

WuChingTzu (18th century) wrote the social satire “The Unofficial History of Scholars”,

TsaoHüehChin (18th century) is the author of the repeatedly filmed novel “Dream of the Red Chamber”, in which the downfall of the Chia family is described.

Huang Chunming (born 1939) wrote the works “Sayonara”, which was also made into a film, and “An old cat drowns”.

Actors, directors

Hou Hsiao-Hsien (born 1947), director.

Among other things, he shot “City of Sadness” and “Millennium Manbo”.

Ang Lee (born 1954)

became internationally known as the director of “Eat Drink Man Woman”, “Sense and Sensibility”, “The Hulk” and “Brokeback Mountain”.

Edward Yang (born 1947), director and screenwriter.

Among other things, he wrote the screenplay for “Winter 1905” and won a prize at the Cannes Film Festival for his film “Yi Yi”.

Qi Shu (born 1976), actress.

She played in the films “The Transporter”, “Home sweet home” and “The Korean Job”, among others.

Brigitte Lin (born 1954), actress.

Lin played in the films “Fire Dragon”, “Deadful Melody? and “Police Story” with.

Takeshi Kaneshiro (born 1973), actor.

He played in the films “House of Flying Daggers”, “Perhaps Love?” and “Confession of Pain ?.


Chen Jui-Lien (born 1971), weightlifter.

She set three world records in weightlifting in her career.

Chu Nanmei (born 1970), weightlifter.

She won two Olympic gold medals in 1993.

Chen Shu-Chih (born 1971), weightlifter.

She won the Olympic gold medal in 1993 and 1995.

Li Fengying (born 1975), weightlifter.

She won the Olympic gold medal in 1994 and 1999.

Taiwan Politics