Top MBA Directory in U.S.A.

Asia - Europe - Australia - Africa - Latin America - Middle East - North America - Central America

You are here: Top MBA Directory > Europe > Belarus


Belarus: Political System

Belarus is a presidential republic. The head of state is the President, who has great powers. The bicameral parliament consists of the House of Representatives with 110 members and the Republic Council, which consists of 64 representatives from the regions and 8 members appointed by the head of state. Parliamentary elections take place every four years. The head of state is directly elected every 7 years; re-election is possible once.

Belarus: Political System

According to, the official name of the country is:

Republic of Belarus

Respublika Belarus

National anthem

The national anthem of a country is a piece of music that is usually underlaid with a text and is intended to express the state, lifestyle and national feeling of a country. It is played on special festive occasions, e.g. on state visits, on special holidays or to honor politicians, business leaders, etc. The national anthem of the respective winning country is also performed at the award ceremony on the occasion of international sporting events such as the Olympic Games, the Tour de France or World and European Championships. In most European countries, the national anthems and flags were introduced at the end of the 18th and beginning of the 19th centuries after they had achieved their independence.

Based on flag descriptions by, My Belarusy (We, the Belarusians) is the national anthem of Belarus. The music was taken from the anthem of the Belarusian SSR, the composer of which was Nester Sakalouski. The new text used since 2002 comes from Mikhas Klimkowitsch and Uladimir Karysna.

Belarus flag and coat of arms

In the English translation

We, the Belarusians, are a peaceful people,

with our hearts loyal to our fatherland,

we are good friends and we strengthen ourselves

in an efficient and free family.


Long live the name of our country,

Long live the fraternal union of peoples!

Our dear mother home,

Long live and prosper Belarus!

Together with our brothers for centuries

we defended our home,

In battles for freedom, in battles for life

we won the flag of our victory!


Friendship between peoples is the power of peoples

And this is our holy sunny path.

Up, go to the clear sky,

O flag of victory, O flag of joy!


Belarus: personalities

Visual artists, writers

Marc Chagall (Moishe Zakharovich Shagalov) (1887 to 1985)

Painter. The Jewish artist, born in Liosna near Vitebsk in what was then the Russian Empire, created not only his famous paintings and stained glass windows, but also mosaics and theater sets and is considered one of the most important painters of the 20th century. He lived mostly in Paris. He died in March 1985 in Saint-Paul-de-Vence in the French region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur.

Svetlana Alexievich (born 1948)

2015 Nobel Prize for Literature. Svetlana Alexandrovna Alexievich was born on May 31, 1948 in Stanislav in the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic - today's Ivano-Frankivsk in western Ukraine. After her father left the Belarusian army, he returned to Belarus with his Ukrainian wife and children. Both parents worked as teachers in a local village and therefore Svetlana Alexievich spent her childhood here. After finishing school she studied journalism at the Belarusian State University in Minsk until 1972. After completing her studies, she worked for a local newspaper and as a teacher in Belarus. In 1976 she went to the literary magazine Neman as a correspondent. In her book "The War Has No Female Face", completed in 1983, she portrayed the fate of Soviet women soldiers in World War II. As a result, the Soviet censorship authorities accused her of defiling the "honor of the Great Patriotic War". Because of her "anti-communist attitude" she then lost her position. In her books she addresses, among other things, the Stalin era and the Chernobyl reactor accident. Despite her critical stance towards President Aljaksandr Lukashenka in Belarus, she returned to Minsk in 2011 after spending time in Paris, Stockholm and Berlin. On October 13, 2013 she received the Paulskirche in Frankfurt the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade.

She received the 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature for her polyphonic work, which is a monument to the suffering and courage of our time.

Politicians and rulers

Salman Shazar (1889 to 1874), third President of Israel

The Belarusian Jew and Zionist emigrated to what would later become Israel in 1924, became a member of the first Knesset in 1949 and served as President of the country from 1963 to 1973.

Marek Edelman (born 1922), one of the 5 leaders of the Warsaw Ghetto uprising, the

last surviving commander of the Warsaw Ghetto uprising, wrote several publications about this period. After the war he studied medicine in Poland and worked as a cardiac surgeon. Since the beginning of the 80s, Dr. Edelman in the Solidarność union.

Alexander Lukashenko (1954)

Lukashenko was born on August 30, 1954 in Kopys, Belarus. He has been President of Belarus since 1994. He rules almost unlimited power and allows the opposition to be strictly persecuted.

Theologians and philosophers

Euphrosyne of Polotsk (Efrasinia Polotskaya, around 1110 to 1173), patron saint of the Belarusians.

The princess voluntarily led a life as a nun and died on a pilgrimage in Jerusalem.

Kyrill von Turaw (around 1130 to 1182) Orthodox theologian and bishop

The Christian scholar was also the most important writer of early Belarusian history.






Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia American Samoa Australia Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

Latin America

Falkland Islands Fiji Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia French Polynesia Guam Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Solomon Islands Tokelau    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

Top MBA Directory Copyright 2020 - Alphabetical Listings