Barbados Political System, Famous People, Animals and Plants

By | January 15, 2023

Barbados: Political System

According to DISEASESLEARNING.COM, Barbados is a member of the Commonwealth. The head of state is the Queen of England. The governor represents the head of state and thus mainly performs representative tasks. The parliament has a bicameral system consisting of the House of Assembly with 30 seats and the Senate with 21 members. The House of Representatives, which is elected for a maximum of five years, elects the Prime Minister. The judiciary is independent. The judiciary consists of the Supreme Court and eight magistrate courts and, as the highest instance, the Judicial Commission of the Privy Council in London. The administration consists of 11 districts (Christ Church, Saint Andrew, Saint George, Saint James, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Lucy, Saint Michael, Saint Peter, Saint Philip, Saint Thomas). The capital has a special status. See AbbreviationFinder for more information about Barbados politics, and acronyms as well.

The official name of the country is:


National anthem

The national anthem of a country is a piece of music that is usually underlaid with a text and is intended to express the state, lifestyle and national feeling of a country. It is played on particularly festive occasions, e.g. B. at state visits, on special holidays or to honor politicians, business leaders, etc. The national anthem of the respective winning country is also performed at the award ceremony on the occasion of international sporting events such as the Olympic Games, the Tour de France or World and European Championships. The introduction of the national anthems in most European countries goes back to the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The numerous former colonies that had become independent usually carried their national anthems, as well as their national flags,

Based on flag descriptions by, the national anthem of Barbados is called: “In Plenty and In Time of Need”, the text is by Irving Burgie (1926-), the composition by C. Van Roland Edwards (1912-1985). It was adopted on November 30, 1966.

  • Check top-mba-universities for public holidays, sports events, UNESCO world heritage sites and major places to visit in Barbados.

In English

In plenty and in time of needWhen this fair land was young

Our brave forefathers sowed the seed

From which our pride has sprung

A pride that makes no wanton boast

Of what it has withstood

That binds our hearts from coast to coast

The pride of nationhoodRefrain:

We loyal sons and daughters all

Do hereby make it known

These fields and hills beyond recall

Are now our very own

We write our names on history’s page

With expectations great

Strict guardians of our heritage

Firm craftsmen of our fate.The Lord has been the people’s guide

for past three hundred years.

With Him still on the people’s side

We have no doubts or fears.

Upward and onward we shall go,

Inspired, exulting, free,

And greater will our nation grow

In strength and unity.


In the English translation

Heroes of the sea, noble people;Brave and immortal nation.

Now the hour has come

to show Portugal’s splendor again.

From the fog of the past,

O Fatherland, we hear the voices of

Our venerable forefathers.

This should lead us to victory!Refrain

To the guns, the guns;

On land and at sea!

To the weapons, the weapons;

To defend our fatherland!

To march towards the enemy guns!

Unroll the invincible flag

In the shining light of your heaven.

Europe and the whole world proclaim

that Portugal was not conquered.

Your happy fatherland is kissed;

From the ocean that mumbles with love.

And your conquering arm of discovery

has given the world new lands.Refrain

Salutes the rising sun,

Which shows a prosperous future.

Let the end of the past be

the signal for our new beginning.

The rays of this significant beginning

are like the mother’s kisses, which

protect and support us in the

struggle against fate.


Barbados: People you know

Politicians and rulers

Heads of state

  • Georg I Hanover (1660-1727) 1714-1727
  • Georg II Hanover (1727-1760) 1683-1760
  • George III Hanover (1738-1820) 1760-1820
  • George IV Hanover (1762-1830) 1820-1830
  • Wilhelm IV Hanover (1765-1837) 1830-1837
  • Viktoria I. Hanover (1819-1901) 1837-1901
  • Edward VII of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha (1841-1910) 1901-1910
  • George V (1910-1936) 1864-1936
  • Edward VIII (1894-1972) 1936
  • George VI. (1895-1952) 1936-1952
  • Elizabeth II (born 1926) has ruled since 1952


  • Sir Robert Duncan Harris Arundell (1904-1989) 1953-1959
  • Sir John Montague Stow (1911-1997) 1959-1967
  • Sir Arleigh Winston Scott (1900-1976) 1967-1976
  • William Douglas (1921-) 1976-1976
  • Sir Deighton Lisle Ward (1909-1984) 1976-1984
  • William Douglas (1921-) 1984
  • Sir Hugh Worell Springer (1913-1994) 1984-1990
  • Dame Nita Barrow (1916-1995) 1990-1995
  • Sir Denys Williams (1929-) 1995-1996
  • Sir Clifford Husbands (* 1926 -) 1996 –

prime minister

  • Errol Walton Barrow (1920-1987) 1966-1976
  • John Michael G. Adams (1931-1985) 1976-1985
  • Harold Bernard St. John (1931-2004) 1985-1986
  • Errol Walton Barrow (1920-1987) 1985-1987
  • Lloyd Erskine Sandiford (1937-) 1987-1994
  • Owen Seymour Arthur (born 1949) 1994 – 2008


  • Obadele Thompson (1976), track and field athlete and Olympic medalist


  • Arthur Barclay(1854-1938) was born in Bridgetown, Barbados in 1854. He later emigrated to Liberia, where he was Treasury Secretary under President Garretson W. Gibson and later succeeded him. Between November 4, 1904 and January 1, 1912, Barclay was President of Liberia for the True Whig Party.

Barbados Politics